Legal News

Illinois Personal Injury

The Top 5 Traffic Laws Illinois Drivers Break

While many Illinois drivers operate their cars by abiding by traffic laws, there are always going to be people that go against the grain and break rules and regulations. If you are a driver in Illinois, you should invest some time into reading the Illinois Vehicle Code so you can be aware of the different rules and regulations that the state has.

The Illinois Vehicle Code lists hundreds of driving offenses and the penalties that come with them, but there are five specific traffic laws that Illinois drivers break routinely. These five traffic laws include failure to stop at a stop sign, or running a red light, driving without a seatbelt, speeding, operating a vehicle without license or insurance, and distracted driving. Let’s examine the five traffic laws and the penalties that come with them. 

1. Failure to Stop at a Stop Sign or Running a Red Light

Both failing to stop at a stop sign and running a red light are large offenses in the state of Illinois. Both of these actions of neglect can put lives at risk. The penalties for failing to stop at a stop sign or running a red light can range, but it’s most commonly a fine or a low amount of points added to your license. 

2. Driving without Wearing a Seatbelt

One of the most common broken laws across the United States is the failure to wear a seatbelt while driving. All drivers in the state of Illinois must wear a seatbelt at all times, with no exceptions. According to the Child Passenger Protection Act, children under eight-years-old must also be secured in a law-approved restraint 

3. Speeding

Speeding not only puts your life at risk, but it also puts the people around you at risk. When drivers make the decision to drive above the speed limit, they are making a conscious decision to put lives at risk. According to the Illinois Vehicle code, there is a range of points that apply to your license after you break a speed limit.

  • 11-601(b)(01) 1-10 mph above limit – 5 points
  • 11-601(b)(03) 11-14 mph above limit – 15 points
  • 11-601(b)(05) 15-25 mph above limit – 20 points
  • 11-601(b)(07) More than 25 mph above limit – 50 points
  • 11-601.5(a) 50 26-34 mph above limit – 50 points
  • 11-601.5(b) 50 35 mph or more above limit – 50 points

4. Operating a Vehicle Without a License or Insurance

In order to operate a vehicle in the state of Illinois, and every other U.S. state, drivers must have a license and auto insurance. Drivers must also keep copies of both on them while driving, or else they could face a penalty ranging from license suspension to revocation.

5. Distracted Driving

One of the easiest ways to put your life in danger, as well as every other human being on the road, is by driving distracted. This can look like a variety of scenarios, but it pretty much includes every activity that is not solely driving. Distracted driving can include but is not limited to texting, talking on the phone, eating or drinking, applying makeup, smoking, or even trying to read a map.

It is crucial for all drivers to limit distractions when driving. According to Illinois Vehicle Code 6-527 (a), it is illegal to use a cellphone while driving a commercial motor vehicle and can result in a 20 point license penalty. As for regular drivers, using a phone is still illegal. You can only use a phone to call if it is connected to Bluetooth or hands-free.

Do you need assistance with a traffic law violation? Send us an email here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *